Ford Heats Up at Single-A; Pirate Trade Winds Swirl

Since Nancy, the writer for our minor-league sister site, Sandlot Swashbucklers, is away on vacation, I’ve posted today’s affiliate update there. It includes blurbs on Runelvys Hernandez, Steve Pearce, Jason Delaney, Brad Corley, Shelby Ford, Jamie Romak, Jared Keel, Jared Hughes and Duke Welker.
A couple quick tidbits for those of you who won’t click the link: Ford is hitting .452 (14 for 31) over his last seven games, and Welker, the Pirates’ second-round pick this past June, earned his first professional win Saturday night for the State College Spikes.
As long as I’m linking…
I glossed over most of Dejan’s article today in the P-G, but the Pirates are getting some serious love on Tim Dierkes’ MLB Trade Rumors site. Tim mentions the Glaus inquiry, as well as Snell’s availability and a potential Torres for Pena swap.
It seems like the Pirates are neither buyers nor sellers, and that Dave Littlefield is simply trying to redistribute his assets. Any of those deals would be a step in the right direction, I’d think, though the jury would stay out on Snell and Saltalamacchia or Kemp for a few seasons. We do need to find a bat, and moving pitching is the only feasible way of doing so.

7 Responses to “Ford Heats Up at Single-A; Pirate Trade Winds Swirl”

  1. Lets Go Buccos Says:

    Torres for Wily Mo would be awesome, he has great power!

  2. DC Says:

    I’m not blown away by Pena as he seems to occasionaly make contact. That being said, what is Torres giving us we can’t get from another stiff. Well he’s better than some of our other stiffs but we aren’t going to be better by keeping him.
    I’d do that trade and hope for the best. We need hitters more than anything Torres brings us.
    Snell for Saltawhatever is one I can’t decide on. Snell and Gorzo are a pretty good 1-2 and with Malholm coming aroundour 1-2-3 looks ok to me. Does anyone want Duke to be any one of those slots? Not I.
    I’d do Duke for him but what Pirates fan wouldn’t, only an idiot Brave would do that. It’s like one of those budweiser bad trade commercials.

  3. Cory Humes Says:

    Saltalamacchia and Kemp have so much talent that I can’t blame Littlefield for thinking about moving Snell.
    Our staff isn’t rock solid, but it’s clear the offense needs more of a boost than the rotation does.
    I’d probably pull Torres for Pena if at all possible, and only deal Snell in the off-season if absolutely necessary (i.e. if Nady can’t play center and/or Pena flops with regular playing time in right).
    Probably not worth speculating over Glaus any longer, thought I like that Littlefield at least inquired into his availability.

  4. Cory Humes Says:

    Saltalamacchia and Kemp have so much talent that I can’t blame Littlefield for thinking about moving Snell.
    Our staff isn’t rock solid, but it’s clear the offense needs more of a boost than the rotation does.
    I’d probably pull Torres for Pena if at all possible, and only deal Snell in the off-season if absolutely necessary (i.e. if Nady can’t play center and/or Pena flops with regular playing time in right).
    Probably not worth speculating over Glaus any longer, thought I like that Littlefield at least inquired into his availability.

  5. DC Says:

    You know I think your correct. I don’t think they have many options other than this to acquire top hitting talent.
    They may need to trade Snell. Will be tough to see him go butif we a good player in return to help out Walker and Andrew M it may be the right move.
    What do we have to lose? seriously? We’re in freaking last place with Snell.

  6. Travis Says:

    If Nady keeps hitting RHP he could play CF for me. There is a lot more to playing center well than outright speed. Andy Van Slyke, Jim Edmonds etc weren’t burners, but they got good jumps on the ball and anticipated where hitters would hit certain pitches (much easier to do in CF than RF or LF). Not that Nady could be a gold glove CF, but his offense is enough.

  7. Cory Humes Says:

    Agreed, Travis. On this club I’d definitely sacrifice a little defense if it means adding offense.
    The question in my mind is will Wily Mo hit for us? I’d like to say yes, but I’m not 100 percent sure.


Comments are closed.

