Alvarez finally a Pirate

The Pirates have officially signed Pedro Alvarez to a four year Major League contract. Speaking to the media for the first time since the draft, Alvarez seemed determined to put the contract issue behind him:

“I just want the fans of Pittsburgh to judge me as the professional player that I am now, to judge me on the player that I am. I will work my hardest to be the best player I can be, to be a leader on and off the field in the community. It’s a big day for me and my family. When I was a little kid, me and my mom dreamed of this. And the fact that it’s a reality now … all I can say is, starting today, I will be the best player I can be. This is a hard, blue-collar community just like where I grew up, and my family instilled that work ethic in me. That’s what’s going to happen. I’ll work my hardest and be the best I can be.”

Tom Gorzelanny was moved to the 60-day disabled list to make room for Alvarez on the 40-man roster.

Posted in 2008 Pittsburgh Pirates, Pedro Alvarez, Transactions. Comments Off on Alvarez finally a Pirate
