Lanny Frattare retires

Pirates’ play-by-play announcer Lanny Frattare is retiring after 33 years in the booth. He took over for the legendary Bob Prince in 1976, and was the longest tenured broadcaster in the franchise’s 122-year history. There was no immediate word on a potential replacement.
This news really caught me off guard. I have never known a world in which Lanny’s words did not bring Pirate baseball into my home. Most of my best Pirate memories have his voice in the background. Lind to Bream in St. Louis to clinch the division in 1990. Mark Smith’s blast to cap the Cordova/Rincon no-hitter in 1997. Etc.
Pirate games will not be the same without Lanny in the booth. I wish I could have heard him call one more playoff game in my lifetime. Good luck, Lanny. Thank you for providing the soundtrack for my memories.

5 Responses to “Lanny Frattare retires”

  1. Tony In Erie Says:

    What a shame. I’ve always wondered how the man is so professional and watches these teams play so badly sometimes. I suppose the love of the game still exists….
    Oh, and a note to any Pirates brass that is reading this — get rid of John Wehner. Seriously. I’d rather have Derek Bell calling games up there.

  2. Deaner Says:

    Very well said… I’m still in shock over the whole situation, I didn’t see it coming. I’m thinking back to some of my Lanny memories now and it’s hard to believe I’m not going to hear him do a Pirates game again.

  3. Brian Cartwright Says:

    Very saddened. I know it’s been a long time, and he’s now 60 or so, but he is the voive of the Pirates. The first few years were frustrating, as he was so clearly superior to even Milo Hamilton and some guy they brought in from the Red Sox who everyone forgets, waiting for Lanny to be given the job as #1.

  4. Jason Says:

    All I have to say is thank God and it’s about time.
    I’m 27, and I’ve listened to him for my entire life. I have always hated that fake laugh he uses, his pretentious attitude (like he’s to refined for baseball or something), and most of all, the insane and stupid insistence on over pronouncing EVERYTHING.
    Did you ever think maybe there was a reason he didn’t win the Frick award?
    Happy retirement Lanny, no hard feelings, and I wish you no ill-will, but I’m glad to see you go.
    Now it’s time for the Bucs to get someone on Greg Brown’s level. If we can get rid of that idiot Wehner too (and NOT replace him with Teke), we’ll have an all-star team.
    Sorry, not being harsh. . . just honest.

  5. Jason Says:

    All I have to say is thank God and it’s about time.
    I’m 27, and I’ve listened to him for my entire life. I have always hated that fake laugh he uses, his pretentious attitude (like he’s to refined for baseball or something), and most of all, the insane and stupid insistence on over pronouncing EVERYTHING.
    Did you ever think maybe there was a reason he didn’t win the Frick award?
    Happy retirement Lanny, no hard feelings, and I wish you no ill-will, but I’m glad to see you go.
    Now it’s time for the Bucs to get someone on Greg Brown’s level. If we can get rid of that idiot Wehner too (and NOT replace him with Teke), we’ll have an all-star team.
    Sorry, not being harsh. . . just honest.


Comments are closed.

